Chakra 101 - Balance, Heal and Thrive

The word chakra is common among people who meditate, do yoga and have an interest in spiritualism. That's fine if you understand what it means but somewhat confusing and often intimidating if you don't. So what is a chakra?

The human body has an energy field, also commonly known as the Aura, although the Aura contains many layers of energy that we carry. Our energetic field is in and around our human body and is multi- dimensional. Meaning the strength and vibration of the energy layers vary. It has rivers of energy called meridians that nourish every organ and cell in our bodies.  These rivers are supplied by seven cone shaped, spinning vortexes of energy called chakras These chakras, in turn, collect energy from the Universal Energy Field that is all around us.


There are a vast amount of chakras but we have 7 main chakras and they reflect the colours of the rainbow. 

What do chakras do?

Physical function:
Each part of the body is associated with a chakra. When the chakra is in balance a sense of harmony is experienced as energy is flowing freely through that part of the body. Should the chakra be blocked a sense of disease or strain is felt in the part of the body associated with the blocked chakra.

Mental function:
When the physical body is in a state of well-being, the mind is at ease.  When chakras are unblocked and balanced, energy is flowing freely through the body, a state of mental clarity is attained.

Spiritual function:
When your chakras are balanced the energy field in and around your body has a higher vibration. This allows you the opportunity to connect more to your higher self, to feel more at ease and connect stronger to energies equal or higher than yourself.

How do Chakras become blocked?

Conflict, loss, fear, accidents, anxiety, stress and emotional upsets are the main reasons for our chakras to become blocked and weak. When a chakra is blocked or weak it disrupts the flow of energy through the physical body. If one chakra is blocked it will decrease the flow of energy through the other chakras and eventually lead to disharmony in the body. If left untreated physical disease as well as emotional and mental disorders develop

I have a blocked chakra. Now what?

Chakras can be treated and balanced effectively through various modalities. I use a safe and effective treatment by using crystals and sound to balance and heal chakras. Crystals are placed around the body to lift the vibration of your energy field. Crystals are then placed on blocked chakras to balance them. Sound, meditation and smudging can be used in conjunction with crystals to further raise your vibration and allow the chakras to restore themselves.
Crystals carry a very high and natural vibration and when brought into and activated within your energy field bring harmony and ease to the body, mind and spirit. For more about the uses of crystal click here.

Over the next couple of weeks I will provide more information on the 7 main chakras.

1.    BASE (or Root Chakra)

Base chakra.jpg

Colour: Red 

Herbal remedy: Rooibos
Affirmation: I am safe and supported. Everything I require is already provided to me.

The root chakra is located near the base of the spine in the area of the coccyx bone. It represents feeling grounded and safe. Fear, anxiety and money worries, can block this chakra. Physically it controls the spine especially the lower back, the rectum, immune system and legs.

When this chakra is blocked you will feel tired, fearful, difficulty moving forwards, lazy, lack of enthusiasm and scared of change. You might feel stuck in a current situation and uncertain of which path to take to free yourself. If this chakra is over active you will feel impulsive, reckless, overexcited and restless.

Unbalanced this can manifest in physical problems with your legs, immune disorders, fatigue syndrome, haemorrhoids and lower back pain.


2.    SACRAL Chakra


Colour: orange 

Herbal remedy: Buchu

Affirmation: I am creative. I love and enjoy my body.

This chakra is located on the spine in the lower abdomen, between the naval and the base of the spine.  It is associated with sexuality, creativity, emotions and desire.

Physically, it is linked to the reproductive system, the gonads (endocrine gland), bladder and kidneys. 

When this chakra is blocked you will feel sexually unresponsive, emotionally numb, experience a creative block or struggle giving birth to new projects.

Over activity can result in feeling emotionally unstable, lustful, and taking on to many projects.

Unbalanced this can manifest in ovarian and prostate problems, sexual diseases as well as bladder and kidney problems. Physical and emotional issues resulting in difficulty conceiving also lies within this chakra.


Next week I’ll be cover the Solar Plexus and Heart chakra.